DUI penalties can be harsh, especially if this is your first offense. In California, the consequences of a DUI conviction can include jail time, heavy fines, and a driver's license suspension. It's important to know what you're up against if you are arrested for DUI in California. In this article, we will discuss the basics of DUI penalties in California. So, if you're looking for information on California DUI penalties, read on.
What Happens When You Get a DUI in California?
A DUI in California can result in several penalties, including jail time, fines, license suspension, and mandatory alcohol education classes. The specific penalties you face will depend on some factors, including your blood alcohol content (BAC), whether you have any prior DUI convictions, and whether anyone was injured as a result of your drunk driving.
Aggravating Factors that Can Increase the DUI Penalties in California
Certain aggravating factors can increase the penalties for a DUI in California. These include the following:
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.15% or higher.
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.15% or higher you are considered legally impaired in California. Having a BAC of 0.15% or higher is one of the aggravating factors that will increase your penalties for your DUI. So if you've had a few drinks and are thinking about getting behind the wheel, it's best to play it safe and take a taxi or Uber instead.
Refusing to submit to a chemical test.
California law requires all drivers to submit to a chemical test, usually a breathalyzer, if they are suspected of driving under the influence. If you refuse to take the test, you will face penalties. These include a one-year license suspension and mandatory DUI classes.
DUI that causes an accident.
If you cause an accident while driving under the influence, you will face more serious penalties. You may be charged with a felony and face up to three years in prison. You will also likely lose your license for four years or more. If someone is killed in the accident, you could be facing a manslaughter charge, which carries a sentence of up to ten years in prison. In addition, you will be required to pay restitution to the victim's family. Finally, your insurance rates will increase significantly if you are convicted of DUI causing an accident. If you are facing these charges, it is important to contact an experienced DUI attorney who can help you fight the charges and avoid harsh penalties.
Exceeding the speed limit.
If you are caught speeding while driving under the influence, you will face enhanced penalties. You may have your license suspended for up to six months and be required to pay a fine of up to $1000.
DUI with a minor in the car.
If you are caught driving under the influence with a minor in the car, you will face enhanced penalties. You may have your license suspended for up to one year and be required to pay a fine of up to $1000. You will also be required to attend mandatory DUI classes.
If you were under 21 years old when the offense occurred.
The legal drinking age in California is 21. If you were caught driving under the influence and you were under 21 years old at the time of the offense, you will face harsher penalties. The court may suspend your driver's license for up to one year and you may be required to attend an alcohol education program. You may also be fined up to $100.
What is a Felony DUI in California?
A felony DUI in California is a DUI offense that is charged as a felony. The most common type of felony DUI is a DUI with injury, which is when the drunk driver causes an accident that injures another person. A felony DUI can also be charged if the driver has multiple prior DUIs on their record. The penalties for a felony DUI in California depend on the specific facts of the case, but they can be very severe.
We hope this article was helpful and gave you a good understanding of the basics of California DUI penalties in 2022. If you are convicted of a DUI in California, the penalties can be quite severe. In some cases, you may even face felony charges. That's why it's so important to have an experienced DUI lawyer on your side who understands the ins and outs of California law. If you have any specific questions or want more information, don't hesitate to give us a call. Our experienced attorneys would be happy to answer any of your questions and help you take the next steps toward protecting your future.
Do You Need a DUI Lawyer You Can Trust?
With Lynn Gorelick, you don't have to face criminal charges alone. You will receive personal attention to your case. Ms. Gorelick will be the one to appear in court with you from beginning to end. Ms. Gorelick, herself, will be doing your DMV hearings. You will not be handed off to another attorney or associate. You deserve this kind of attention to your needs at this stressful time. Ms. Gorelick has represented people charged with DUI for over 38 years. She has NEVER been a prosecutor who pursues convictions. She has only DEFENDED people accused of crimes. Contact us today for your consultation!
The materials available on this website are for informational and entertainment purposes only and not to provide legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice for any particular issue or problem. You should not act or refrain from acting based on any content included on this site without seeking legal or other professional advice. The information presented on this website may not reflect the most current legal developments. No action should be taken in reliance on the information contained on this website and we disclaim all liability for actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this site to the fullest extent permitted by law.
Previous Article - The Best Advice You Can Hear About California DUI Penalties in 2022
Next Article - 7 Quick Tips About California DUI Penalties in 2022