An ignition interlock device (IID) is installed on the driver's vehicle and requires a clean (alcohol-free) breath sample in order to start, and continue operating, the car. Under California's new IID law, drivers who have been charged with or convicted of a DUI can get their restricted driving privileges back immediately after installing an IID. However, the driver is generally required to pay for the costs of installing and maintaining the IID.
There are a number of costs associated with a DUI conviction that go beyond fines and fees. Drivers have to pay for the costs of higher insurance, SR-22 certification, DUI school, and the IID. There may be financial assistance available for drivers who cannot afford the costs of an IID. However, the best way to avoid the consequences of a DUI is to fight the criminal charges and avoid a conviction for drunk driving.
If you are arrested for drunk driving or a drug DUI in Fremont, Berkeley, or anywhere in the East Bay, contact the experienced California DUI lawyer Lynn Gorelick today.
Who is required to have an IID after a DUI in Contra Costa County?
After a first-time DUI in California, if you have not already installed an IID for a restriction, your license may be suspended for 6 months. If the driver chooses not to get an IID, he or she will not be able to drive in California until the suspension period is over. Alternatively, the driver can get a use-restricted license. However, the restricted license may be more limited than an IID restriction.
Restricted License as an Alternative
A restricted license generally limits where and when the driver can operate a vehicle. This is generally limited to driving to and from work, to and from school, and for medical appointments. Drivers looking for a restricted license will have to apply for the restricted driving privileges and get an SR-22 form of financial responsibility.
IID Driving After a DUI
Most drivers prefer an IID, even if it requires the cost of installation and maintenance. An IID does not limit the driver to certain locations. Drivers are only limited by having to drive without drinking alcohol. When a breath sample tests alcohol in the breath (over the threshold amount), it will record the failed test and the vehicle will not start.
How much does an IID cost in Alameda County or Contra Costa County?
Generally, the costs of an IID include paying for:
- Lease or rental fees, and
- Removal fees.
Depending on the company, installation may cost around $75 to $150 to install. There are installation locations all over Contra Costa and Alameda Counties. Installation locations can include some of the same locations that install car stereos or car alarms.
In addition to installation, most IID companies charge a monthly fee to lease the device of about $60 to $90 per month. This typically comes out to about $2.00 to $3.00 per day. The monthly fees generally include the cost of monitoring and maintenance/calibration. In most cases, an IID in California needs to be served every 30 to 60 days.
When it is time to remove the IID, usually after approval or authorization from the DMV or monitoring authority, drivers may have to pay $50 to $100 for the removal fee.
What if I can't afford the cost of an IID but I need to drive?
There may be financial assistance available for drivers who cannot afford the cost of an IID installation, maintenance, lease fees, or removal. This is generally based on the individual's income level.
If the driver's income is at or below the federal poverty level, the driver only pays 10% of the ignition interlock costs.
- If the driver's income is 101% to 200% of the federal poverty level, the driver pays 25% of the ignition interlock costs.
- If the driver's income is 2x to 3x the federal poverty level, the driver pays half of the IID costs.
IID Restricted Driving After a DUI in California
Talk to your East Bay DUI defense attorney about the consequences for your driver's license after a DUI and your options for fighting to get your charges dropped or reduced. If you have been arrested on suspicion of drunk driving in Contra Costa County or Alameda County, contact East Bay DUI lawyer Lynn Gorelick today.