Whether you live in Hercules, went out for drinks with work colleagues overlooking the bay, or are simply driving through on I-80 on your way home, a DUI arrest in Contra Costa County can be costly. Even before you have your day in court, the consequences of an arrest for drunk driving will begin in as little as 10 days after your arrest. This is why it is important to contact a local DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible after a DUI in Hercules.
Immediately After an Arrest for a DUI
Your first priority after a DUI arrest in Hercules is to get out of jail. Generally, most misdemeanor DUIs in Contra Costa County will not require a long jail stay or require putting up a bond for release. It can still take quite a few hours for processing, sobering up, and getting your mug shot before you will get out. However, as soon as you are released, you may want to contact your local DUI lawyer to get started on your case.
Hercules Police Department
If you were arrested by Hercules Police, you may be able to contact the Hercules Police Department for more information about your arrest.
Hercules Police Department
111 Civic Drive
Hercules, California 94547
Business: (510) 799-8260
Alternatively, if your arrest occurred on Interstate 80, the arrest may have involved the California Highway Patrol (CHP). The CHP patrols many highways and unincorporated roadways through Alameda and Contra Costa Counties, including Interstate I-80.
California Highway Patrol - Golden Gate Division
1551 Benicia Road
Vallejo, CA 94591
Phone: (707) 917-4300
Protect Your Driver's License After an Arrest
One of the most surprising parts of a DUI arrest in California is finding out that you can lose your license even if you are never convicted of a DUI. After a suspected drunk driving arrest, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will begin an administrative suspension that does not rely on a conviction for any crime. This is separate from the criminal charge and goes into action right after an arrest.
During the arrest processing, the police or law enforcement officer will take away your license and give you a paper form. The paper is a temporary driver's permit that is only good for 30 days. After 30 days, your driving privileges will be suspended. However, you don't have 30 days to challenge the suspension, you only have 10 days after the arrest to request a DMV hearing. The good news is that after you formally request a DMV hearing, your suspension will generally be put off until after the hearing, extending your time to be able to drive.
Contact your DUI lawyer as soon as possible after an arrest. Your lawyer will be able to:
- Formally request an administrative per se license suspension (APS) hearing;
- Appear for your APS hearing with the DMV so you do not have to;
- Allow extra time for you to keep your driving privileges; and
- If the hearing is successful, avoid an administrative license suspension before you have your day in court.
Court Hearings for Hercules DUIs
After the arrest, processing, and release, the next major part of a DUI arrest involves the arraignment. The arraignment is generally the first court appearance when the judge reads the formal charges and the “accused” responds to the charges. This is not a trial. The accused will generally respond with either “guilty,” or “not guilty.” Responding “not guilty” will put the case off to a future date.
The most important part of the arraignment is probably to show up on time and come prepared. Failure to show up can result in a bench warrant for your arrest, even if you have a good excuse for why you couldn't make it. Showing up unprepared could mean that you plead guilty to a crime that you did not commit, resulting in immediate sentencing without a chance to challenge the criminal charges.
By contacting a local Contra Costa County DUI defense lawyer, you will be informed about the process, understand what you have to do, and you may not even have to show up for the arraignment because your lawyer will show up for you. Contact your DUI defense attorney as soon as possible to put yourself in the best position to avoid a criminal conviction and keep your license to drive.
Court Appearance in Richmond
The initial court hearing, including the arraignment, will generally be heard at the George D. Carroll Courthouse in Richmond, California.
George D. Carroll Courthouse
100 37th Street
Richmond, CA 94805
Business Hours: 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday (excluding court holidays)
Parking: There is street parking and a parking lot directly behind the courthouse.
Public Transportation: The closest Bart station is Del Norte. It is a 12-minute walk from the station to the courthouse. There are also several bus lines that can take you to the courthouse from the Bart station.
DUI Lawyer for Hercules
East Bay attorney Lynn Gorelick has more than 35 years of DUI experience and understands the consequences for California drivers after a DUI arrest. Representing drivers in Hercules and Contra Costa County, Lynn Gorelick is familiar with the local DUI laws, and the local officers and prosecutors involved. Contact East Bay DUI lawyer Lynn Gorelick today.