If you are convicted of a DUI that results in the death of another person, you could be facing some serious consequences. In California, there are several different penalties that you could be facing depending on the circumstances of your case. In this article, we will discuss the consequences of a DUI resulting in death in California. Read on.
Consequences of a DUI That Results in Death in California
A DUI conviction can have serious consequences, even if no one is hurt. But what happens when a DUI accident results in someone's death? If you're facing charges for a DUI that resulted in someone's death, it's important to understand the possible consequences you may be facing. Below are some of the consequences:
The first and most common consequence of a DUI resulting in death in California is fining. The amount of the fine will depend on the facts of each case, but they can range from a few hundred dollars to tens of thousands of dollars. The maximum fine for a DUI in California is $3000. If you are convicted of DUI resulting in death, the minimum fine is $1000. You may also be ordered to pay restitution to the victim's family. But these are just the statutory maximums, the fines imposed are often much higher.
If you are convicted of DUI causing injury or death, you face a mandatory minimum sentence of four years in state prison. If a great bodily injury is inflicted, the minimum jail time increases to six years. And if multiple victims were injured or killed, each person counts as a separate count for sentencing purposes. So, if three people were injured and one died as a result of your DUI, you would be facing a minimum sentence of 15 years in prison.
The amount of time you will spend in jail will depend on the facts of your case and your prior criminal history. If this is your first offense, you may be facing up to one year in county jail. But if you have prior convictions or if there are aggravating factors, you could be facing up to ten years in state prison.
Another common consequence of a DUI resulting in death is the suspension of your driver's license. In California, you can have your license suspended for up to four years if you are convicted of DUI causing injury or death. The length of the suspension will depend on the facts of your case and your prior history. If this is your first offense, you may only have your license suspended for six months. But if you have prior convictions or if there are aggravating factors, you could be facing a longer suspension.
If you are convicted of DUI causing death in California, the court will order you to serve a mandatory period of probation. The length of your probation will depend on the facts and circumstances of your case, but it will typically last for three to five years. The court can also order you to attend an alcohol education program, pay restitution to the victim's family, do community service, and/or install an ignition interlock device in your car. And those are just the consequences that come from the criminal courts. If you are sued in civil court by the victim's family, they can collect damages from you including pain and suffering, loss of earnings, and funeral expenses.
If you are convicted of DUI causing injury or death, your vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 days. The length of the impoundment will depend on the facts of your case and your prior history. If this is your first offense, you may only have your vehicle impounded for 14 days. But if you have prior convictions or if there are aggravating factors, you could be facing a longer impoundment.
One of the most significant consequences of a DUI causing injury or death is the impact it will have on your insurance rates. Your insurance company may drop you entirely or they may significantly increase your rates. If you are dropped by your insurance company, it can be very difficult to find new coverage. And if your rates are increased, it can make affording car insurance impossible.
A DUI that results in death can have serious consequences. If you are facing these charges, it is important to speak with an experienced attorney who can help you navigate the legal system and protect your rights. The team at our law firm is here to help. Call us today to learn more about how we can help you fight these charges.
Do You Need a DUI Lawyer You Can Trust?
With Lynn Gorelick, you don't have to face criminal charges alone. You will receive personal attention to your case. Ms. Gorelick will be the one to appear in court with you from beginning to end. Ms. Gorelick, herself, will be doing your DMV hearings. You will not be handed off to another attorney or associate. You deserve this kind of attention to your needs at this stressful time. Ms. Gorelick has represented people charged with DUI for over 38 years. She has NEVER been a prosecutor who pursues convictions. She has only DEFENDED people accused of crimes. Contact us today for your consultation!
The materials available on this website are for informational and entertainment purposes only and not to provide legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice for any particular issue or problem. You should not act or refrain from acting based on any content included on this site without seeking legal or other professional advice. The information presented on this website may not reflect the most current legal developments. No action should be taken in reliance on the information contained on this website and we disclaim all liability for actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this site to the fullest extent permitted by law.