New Year's is a time when many people try to make life changes with a New Year's resolution. This may include going to the gym, stopping smoking, or drinking less alcohol. Unfortunately, many people decide they need to cut down on drinking only after getting arrested for drunk driving.
If you were arrested for a DUI on New Year's Day, contact the local East Bay DUI defense attorney who understands the challenges of a DUI arrest in California and will fight to make sure you don't lose your driving privileges.
Maximum Enforcement on New Year's in California
The period between Thanksgiving and New Year's Day has some of the highest rates of arrests for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and/or drugs. There are a number of factors involved in the higher rates of DUIs, including drinking more at family gatherings, workplace holiday parties, and festive holiday celebrations. Combining these drinking events with driving can be a dangerous combination for drivers in California.
The California Highway Patrol often initiates Maximum Enforcement Periods (MEPs) over New Year's Eve through New Year's Day and throughout the month of January. During the MEPs, law enforcement and the CHP add additional patrols for the purpose of enforcing the state's DUI laws. This year, the CHP planned a 30-hour New Year's Eve crackdown from 6 p.m. on December 31st through Wednesday evening on New Year's Day.
2019 New Year's DUIs in California
Last year, there were 1,140 DUI arrests over the New Year's holiday in California. At least 36 people died in car accidents during the same period, including 4 pedestrians. This was a higher rate of traffic fatalities over the previous year when 23 people died over the holiday. DUI arrests were also up over the previous year's number of 936 DUI arrests.
What to Do After a New Year's DUIs in the East Bay
A DUI may be the first time someone is arrested. A DUI arrest can be confusing and the driver may not know what to do next. Frequently asked questions after an East Bay DUI can help to answer some of the common questions a driver has. Any other questions should be addressed by your experienced DUI attorney.
If you or a family member is arrested for drunk driving around the new year, there is only a limited amount of time to request a DMV hearing. The DMV handles your license suspension and drivers only have 10 days after a DUI arrest to request a hearing. If the driver does not request an APS hearing in time, their license will be administratively suspended after 30 days from the arrest. Contact your DUI lawyer as soon as possible to request a hearing and appear on your behalf to keep your driving privileges.
With over 35 years of experience, Lynn Gorelick understands how a DUI conviction can affect your future, your job, and how to fight to keep a conviction off your record. If you are facing a New Year's DUI, contact the local East Bay DUI defense attorney who understands that you do not have to plead guilty just because you were arrested.