If you are arrested for a DUI in California, you can expect to face some steep costs. There are many different expenses that come with a DUI conviction, and the total amount you will end up paying will depend on a variety of factors. In this blog post, we will take a look at some of the most common costs associated with a DUI in California. We will also provide some tips on how to reduce these costs as much as possible.
How Costly Getting A DUI In California Is?
The first thing you should know is that getting a DUI in California is not cheap. The average cost of a DUI in the state of California is around $15,000. This includes the cost of bail, legal fees, increased insurance rates, and other associated costs. If you are convicted of a DUI, you can expect to pay much more than this.
The exact amount you will end up paying will depend on a number of different factors. For example, if you are charged with a felony DUI, you can expect to pay much more in legal fees and other associated costs. If you cause an accident while driving under the influence, you may also be responsible for any property damage or injuries that occur.
What Are The Estimated Expenses For Getting A DUI In California?
The estimated expenses for getting a DUI in California are as follows:
- Bail: $2000
- Legal Fees: $5000 – $10000
- Increased Insurance Rates: $1000 – $3000 per year
- Other Associated Costs: $2000 – $5000
- Total Estimated Cost: $15,000 – $30,000
How To Reduce The Cost Of A DUI In California?
There are a few different things you can do to try and reduce the cost of a DUI in California. One of the best things you can do is to hire an experienced DUI attorney. An experienced attorney will know how to negotiate with prosecutors and may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed.
Another thing you can do is to enroll in a DUI diversion program. These programs are designed to help first-time offenders avoid a conviction. If you successfully complete the program, your charges will be dismissed and you will not have a criminal record.
Finally, you can try to avoid a conviction by pleading guilty to a lesser charge. This is known as wet recklessness. A wet reckless is a misdemeanor charge that can be given if the prosecutor believes there is not enough evidence to convict you of a DUI. While a wet reckless is still a criminal conviction, it is much less serious than a DUI and will not result in the same penalties.
What Are The Penalties For A DUI In California?
The penalties for a DUI in California are very serious. If you are convicted of a DUI, you can expect to face up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1000, and your driver's license will be suspended for at least six months. You may also be required to attend DUI classes and install an ignition interlock device in your car.
If you are convicted of a felony DUI, the penalties are even more severe. You can expect to face up to three years in prison, a fine of up to $5000, and your driver's license will be suspended for at least one year. You will also be required to attend DUI classes and install an ignition interlock device in your car.
If you cause an accident while driving under the influence, you may also be charged with vehicular manslaughter. This is a very serious charge that can result in up to ten years in prison.
As you can see, the cost of a DUI in California can be very high. If you are facing charges, it is important to hire an experienced attorney who can help you reduce the cost as much as possible. You should also try to enroll in a diversion program and avoid a conviction if at all possible. The penalties for a DUI are very serious, and you should do everything you can to avoid them.
This concludes our blog post on the cost of a DUI in California. We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us. Thank you for reading!
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, it is important to contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney can help you navigate the legal system and may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact us today for a free consultation.
Thank you for reading! We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.
Do You Need a DUI Lawyer You Can Trust?
With Lynn Gorelick you don't have to face criminal charges alone. You will receive personal attention to your case. Ms. Gorelick will be the one to appear in court with you from beginning to end. Ms. Gorelick, herself, will be doing your DMV hearings. You will not be handed off to another attorney or associate. You deserve this kind of attention to your needs at this stressful time. Ms. Gorelick has represented people charged with DUI for over 38 years. She has NEVER been a prosecutor who pursues convictions. She has only DEFENDED people accused of crimes. Contact us today for your consultation!
The materials available on this website are for informational and entertainment purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. You should not act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content included in this site without seeking legal or other professional advice. The information presented on this website may not reflect the most current legal developments. No action should be taken in reliance on the information contained on this website and we disclaim all liability in respect to actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this site to the fullest extent permitted by law.
Previous Article - After Getting A DUI In California, How Long Does It Stay On Your Record?
Next Article - What Happens After Getting a DUI in California: All the Basics You Need to Know in 2023