When it comes to DUI, there are serious consequences in California that everyone should be aware of. If you're convicted of a DUI, you could face jail time, fines, and even the loss of your driver's license. So if you're thinking about driving after drinking, it's important to be aware of the risks involved. To learn more about the consequences of DUI in California, keep reading.
The first offense of a DUI in California can result in a fine of up to $1,000. If you are convicted of a DUI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher, you may be fined up to $3,000. A second DUI offense can result in a fine of up to $2,500, while a third offense can result in a fine of up to $5,000.
However, if the driver is under 21 years of age, they face much steeper penalties. The minimum fine for an underage DUI in California is $1,000, which can easily go over $18,000. In addition, the driver's license suspension period is doubled for those under 21.
If you are convicted of a DUI felony in California, you can expect to face significant fines. The fines can increase to over $10,000 because of court fees and other costs. You may also be required to pay restitution to any victims involved in your accident. Additionally, the court may order you to complete a mandatory alcohol treatment program at your own expense.
2. Jail Time
There is no set amount of time that someone will go to jail if they are convicted of driving under the influence in California. The amount of time that someone spends in jail will depend on a number of factors, such as:
- The severity of the DUI offense
- Whether or not there was an accident involved
- If anyone was injured as a result of the DUI
- The driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the arrest
- The driver's prior DUI history
In general, first-time offenders can expect to spend at least 48 hours in jail if they are convicted of DUI in California. However, if the DUI offense was particularly severe (e.g., there was an accident with injuries involved), the jail time could be much longer.
A first offense for a DUI in California is punishable by up to six months in jail. A second offense is punishable by up to one year in jail, while a third offense is punishable by up to one year in jail.
And if you are convicted of a DUI and caused an accident that resulted in someone's death, you could be facing a prison sentence of 4 or more years.
3. License Suspension
A license suspension for DUI is when your driver's license is taken away for a period of time after you are convicted of driving under the influence. This can be a first-time offense or a subsequent offense. The length of the suspension will depend on the facts of your case but can range from a few months to several years.
In California, first-time DUI offenders will have their licenses suspended for a minimum of four months. However, your license may be suspended for up to a year if you refuse to submit to a chemical test or if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher.
If you're on probation for a DUI, you'll be subject to certain conditions set by the court. These conditions will vary depending on the severity of your offense and your criminal history, but they may include attending DUI classes, abstaining from alcohol use, participating in counseling or therapy, and submitting to regular alcohol testing. You'll also be required to pay any fines or fees associated with your probation.
If you violate the terms of your probation, you may be subject to additional penalties, including jail time. So it's important that you understand the conditions of your probation and take them seriously.
5. IID Installation
An IID installation is a device that's placed in your car that tests your breath for alcohol content before allowing the engine to start. If you have been convicted of DUI, the court may order you to install an IID in your car. The process for installing an IID can vary depending on the county you live in, but generally, you'll need to:
- Get an IID from a state-approved provider
- Schedule an appointment with a certified installer
- Bring your vehicle and paperwork to the appointment
- Pay the installation fee
Once the IID is installed, you'll need to blow into it before starting your car. If the IID detects alcohol on your breath, the engine will not start. IIDs typically need to be calibrated every 30-60 days. The calibration process involves taking your car to a state-approved provider and blowing into the IID.
So what are the consequences of a DUI in California? The list above is just a snapshot, but it gives you an idea of some of the things that can happen if you're caught driving under the influence. If you find yourself in this situation, don't wait – call us today and we'll help you get started on putting together a defense strategy. We have years of experience helping people like you fight DUI charges, and we know how to get results.
Do You Need a DUI Lawyer You Can Trust?
With Lynn Gorelick you don't have to face criminal charges alone. You will receive personal attention to your case. Ms. Gorelick will be the one to appear in court with you from beginning to end. Ms. Gorelick, herself, will be doing your DMV hearings. You will not be handed off to another attorney or associate. You deserve this kind of attention to your needs at this stressful time. Ms. Gorelick has represented people charged with DUI for over 38 years. She has NEVER been a prosecutor who pursues convictions. She has only DEFENDED people accused of crimes. Contact us today for your consultation!
The materials available on this website are for informational and entertainment purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. You should not act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content included in this site without seeking legal or other professional advice. The information presented on this website may not reflect the most current legal developments. No action should be taken in reliance on the information contained on this website and we disclaim all liability in respect to actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this site to the fullest extent permitted by law.
Previous Article - How Much Do You Really Know About DUI Consequences in California?
Next Article - Do you Have to Let Your Work Know About Your DUI?