After being charged with DUI manslaughter in California, you may be wondering what will happen next. While the specifics will vary depending on the facts of your case and the specific prosecutor involved, there are some general things you can expect. Keep reading to learn more.
What Happens After You're Charged With DUI Manslaughter In California?
If you are charged with DUI manslaughter in California, you could face severe penalties, including imprisonment and a substantial fine. In addition, your driver's license may be suspended or revoked, and you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. The consequences of a conviction can be far-reaching and could affect your ability to find employment, seek higher education, or even rent a place to live.
If you are charged with DUI manslaughter in California, it is imperative that you immediately contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who will build the best legal strategy for your case. Your attorney will investigate the incident fully and analyze all evidence presented against you to determine if any laws have been violated or if there have been any constitutional violations.
They may also challenge the reliability of witness testimony and present mitigating circumstances on your behalf. After discussing the charges and potential penalties involved with a qualified attorney, they may be able to negotiate a plea bargain agreement if appropriate.
No matter which route you take, it is essential to remember that you have the right to remain silent and not make any statements. Anything you say can be used against you in court. It is highly recommended that you take advantage of a lawyer's expertise and avoid incriminating yourself.
In California, a DUI manslaughter conviction can result in up to 10 years in prison and fines reaching up to $10,000. Additionally, if you are convicted of multiple instances of DUI manslaughter within a ten-year period, the potential punishment can be even more severe. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime committed while under the influence, those convicted could face charges including vehicular homicide or involuntary manslaughter.
What Happens If DUI Manslaughter Is Caused By Ordinary Negligence?
If you have been found guilty of DUI manslaughter due to ordinary negligence, your punishment may vary. The court will take into account a number of factors, such as your criminal record, the severity of the offense, and whether or not you showed genuine remorse. In most cases, you will be sentenced to a term of imprisonment, and may also be ordered to pay a fine. You may also be required to attend mandatory DUI classes, and you may be ordered to perform community service.
No matter what punishment is handed down, you will likely have your driver's license revoked for a period of time depending on the severity of the offense. You may also face restrictions or prohibitions on driving privileges after the revocation period has ended. Additionally, those who are found guilty of DUI manslaughter in California will have their conviction become part of the public record and this can affect many aspects of life such as employment opportunities.
What Happens If DUI Manslaughter Is Caused By Gross Negligence?
If your DUI manslaughter has been found to be caused by gross negligence, you may be charged with a felony. This charge may result in significant jail time, and could also affect your ability to find employment or housing in the future. It is important to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney if you are facing this charge. An attorney can evaluate your case and help you build a strong defense.
Why Are The Penalties For DUI Manslaughter Caused By Gross Negligence So Severe?
DUI manslaughter is a serious charge with severe penalties. In California, the penalties for DUI manslaughter caused by gross negligence are harsher than for those caused by simple negligence. What accounts for this difference?
One reason may be that gross negligence demonstrates a greater level of recklessness on the part of the driver. This could lead to more tragic outcomes and thus harsher penalties. Additionally, California law may seek to send a stronger message about the seriousness of DUI manslaughter by punishing it more harshly.
No matter what your situation may be, it is essential that you seek out legal representation when facing a DUI manslaughter charge in California. With the right guidance, you can protect yourself from harsh consequences and work towards getting your life back on track. Do not hesitate to contact an attorney today if you have been charged with DUI manslaughter in California!
Do You Need a DUI Lawyer You Can Trust?
With Lynn Gorelick you don't have to face criminal charges alone. You will receive personal attention to your case. Ms. Gorelick will be the one to appear in court with you from beginning to end. Ms. Gorelick, herself, will be doing your DMV hearings. You will not be handed off to another attorney or associate. You deserve this kind of attention to your needs at this stressful time. Ms. Gorelick has represented people charged with DUI for over 38 years. She has NEVER been a prosecutor who pursues convictions. She has only DEFENDED people accused of crimes. Contact us today for your consultation!
The materials available on this website are for informational and entertainment purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. You should not act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content included in this site without seeking legal or other professional advice. The information presented on this website may not reflect the most current legal developments. No action should be taken in reliance on the information contained on this website and we disclaim all liability in respect to actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this site to the fullest extent permitted by law.
Previous Article - DUI Manslaughter in California: Possible Jail Sentences
Next Article - DUI Manslaughter in California 101: All the Basics You Need to Know in 2023